PDA

View Full Version : Using linux now

MR. SLiK
09-20-2003, 05:51 PM
anyone using linux here? I downloaded both iso files for Gentoo linux (a friend reccommend i use it since im a newb to linux). The one thing i cant seem to figure out yet is how to install it off this disk (im running it off the cd i created) I also have a second cd with mozilla n stuff but i have to figure out how to install that stuff to :P This "browser" im using now is like edit.com in windows.

EXEcution
09-20-2003, 05:56 PM
What makes Linux harder than Windows?

MR. SLiK
09-20-2003, 06:12 PM
I've never used linux before for one, and its a lot more difficult (for me) than windows to setup. Doesnt have the my computer and all that stuff. I still dont know yet how to install it to one of my hard drives (im working off the cd right now). And this browser, Links, is only text. No images. I do have Mozilla on the Disk2 along with other stuff though.

Scorch
09-20-2003, 06:13 PM
So you going with the east plan to destroy Microsoft? :P

MR. SLiK
09-20-2003, 06:17 PM
no scorch :) I've been interested in learning how to use linux for a while now. One of the cool things though, is you have 4 different consoles in which to do stuff. Right now im using the first one, for browsing and posting here. Second one, i have for doing the install, the third for the installation, and the fourth i havent used yet. This text only browser is annoying as hell though since right now i cant use the mouse at all (pure keyboard goodness).

JIMINATOR
09-20-2003, 07:09 PM
gentoo, never heard of it.
get mandrake, it is a standard linux, easy to install, works well,
is pretty much configured out of the box.

prolly the only thing you will want to do is divide the drive
up into 3 partitions, swap, /, & /home (for personal files),
that way if any problems with the install, you
just reformat & reinstall on the /, and all your home files remain...

MR. SLiK
09-20-2003, 08:41 PM