PDA

View Full Version : Snow Day!..

TheMaster
01-16-2007, 06:15 PM
Well my area, the Ludington Area School district closed school for the first time this winter season, because we got dumped with so much lake-effect, one of our schools was actually buried in all the snow. The sun is out now, and hopefully a lot of it will melt away.I left several dots in this thread title because this came only a day after something very serious occured at our secondary school complex, which has the junior high and the high school. One of the junior high students, an 8th grader, 14 years old, brought a loaded revolver with him. The assistant principal, a good friend of mine, found the gun in the kids backpack, and he says the student was cooperative the whole time, and broke down after the discovery. I have no idea why he brought the gun in.The junior high and the high school are connected together, literally. I graduated only last year, but even so it rattled my nerves when I heard the news. Fortunately a potential tragedy was averted. The student is suspended indefinitely, and faces explusion, quite possibly prosecution too. We hear in the news very recently all the school shootings that occur in our country, and incidents of weapons being discovered on students, a lot of us think that it can't happen to us, or that it probably never will. Some of us here were probably thinking the same thing until yesterday. Incidents like this I believe are a wake-up call to all of us, that it could happen anywhere. But the other students at the school did the right thing. When they heard the rumor that one of their classmates brought a loaded gun in, the went right to the staff about it, and my hat's off to them.I am just grateful that the ordeal is over, and no one was harmed or threatened, we don't need any more school shootings in this country.

BobtheCkroach
01-16-2007, 06:42 PM
I heard about the gun incident and was very rattled myself! I was glad to hear that no one was hurt.