PDA

View Full Version : How legal is Limewire

Sepra
10-09-2007, 08:23 PM
I'm an mp3 noob and my son just got an mp3 player for his b-day and someone suggested Limewire for music. You can download for free, but is it a legal website? I know lots use it.......

FUS1ON
10-09-2007, 08:41 PM
The software itself is not illegal, sharing of 'certain files' is not illegal, but if you get something for free that normally you would have to pay for in a store like music well then yes that is illegal.

Their disclaimer:

LimeWire is legal software, but it is illegal for you to use LimeWire to share copyrighted files without permission. Purchasing LimeWire PRO does not constitute a license for obtaining or distributing unauthorized files. When you download LimeWire software from www.limewire.com, you agree to refrain from using LimeWire for the purpose of copyright infringement.

http://www.limewire.com/about/copyright.php

This is one of those touchy subjects, I will be watching this thread.

1. No warez. This includes the linking to sites or locations which offer illegal downloads of games or other applications. This also includes discussions regarding warez, ROMS, their use, and ways to retrieve and distribute them.

He Is Legend
10-09-2007, 08:57 PM
like anyone uses limewire legally

The Priest
10-09-2007, 09:13 PM
Make sure your anti virus is on because there are some risks on that site

Goober
10-09-2007, 11:34 PM
Good subject Sepra

My daughter was going to install limewire on her comp (which is on the home network) and I nixed the idea. One reason was the chance of a virus invading my comps and the other was the probability of her downloading copyrighted material.

so all in all pretty much anything p2p is illegal ;)

So, is that the general consensus of everyone? The use of Limewire and other P2P software will get the RIAA breathing down your neck?

Nitro
10-09-2007, 11:52 PM