PDA

View Full Version : Some Recent Photos

Bingo
01-10-2009, 02:48 AM
As many of you know, I'm a bit of an amateur photographer, having posted quite a few pics here before.

Over Christmas I went back to Atlanta to go visit family and friends. One of the things I've always loved taking pictures of are old Cemeteries. The ones with the really impressive old architecture. It's something of a lost art, I think - the mausoleums, elaborate stonework and intricate statuary. To really put it into perspective - the Cemetery has an "information" building which is staffed all day and even sells items (Yeah, almost a gift shop in a cemetery).

It's pretty amazing, but right off the edge of downtown Atlanta is an amazing old cemetery called Oakland Cemetery. It's H-U-G-E and has absolutely stunning work.

It was founded in 1850 and covers 88 acres. Like I said, it's huge.

I went down there and took a few pictures. Unfortunately I only had a bit over an hour which isn't nearly enough to see all of it.

One amusing note - I went with my Dad (He's a photographer too) and while in the Information Building I noticed amongst other things for sale, they had a copy of one of my Dad's books. That was odd.

So here's a link to the set on my Flickr page. Some of you might find it pretty interesting. Here's an example of the kind of works there.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bingo2/sets/72157612326683485/

Here's an example of the kind of works there.

OUTLAWS Dixie Chick
01-10-2009, 01:21 PM
Those are really fascinating. I think my favorite was the lion. I found that beloved wife one (the one that the statue was headless) quiet humorous. Was there any story behind that particular one, or had it just not weathered well and fell off? Thanks for sharing.

Goober
01-10-2009, 02:34 PM
The craftmanship in the old days is just amazing. Now days, they want you to just put a bronze plaque flush with the ground so the grounds keeper won't have to weedeat around the headstone.